Directors & Members

There are 5 Members of CLPT, The Members are akin to the shareholders of a company. They have ultimate control over the academy Trust, with the ability to appoint some of the Directors and the right to amend the Trust’s Articles of Association. The Members are responsible for holding the Directors to account. Two Members, who were original signatories, are not Directors.

There are 5 Directors. Directors are responsible for the governance functions such as setting the direction of the trust, holding the CEO/headteachers to account and ensuring financial probity. As charity Directors, they also ensure that they are complying with charity law requirements. Academy Trusts are charitable companies and the Directors are company directors and must comply with company law requirements.

CLPT Directors sit on a Trust Board which requires them to regularly attend meetings, manage conflicts of interest, seek advice from the academies leadership teams and Executive Directors and ensure that the academies have appropriate procedures in place for reporting financial information. The Trust Board has delegated some of its decision making to a Finance and Personnel Committee and an Audit and Risk Committee to assist in discharging its functions.

CLPT Articles of Association state that the Chair of the Board of Directors will also be a Member, thereby ensuring a link between the two layers.

Our Members

  • Joan Pilsbury
  • Melvyn Pope
  • Robert Turton *
  • Philip Marshall *

(* These are also Directors who sit on the Trust Board)

Our Directors

  • Graham Parker
  • Robert Turton (Chair)
  • Philip Marshall
  • Sofia Zamir
  • James Nichols