Trust Board and Governance

Multi-Academy Trust

In our Multi-Academy Trust (MAT), a single Trust is responsible for all of the member academies (11 academies as at June 2018).

The member academies and Chairs of Governors in Wolverhampton currently comprise:

  • Moseley Park (secondary) and Heath Park (secondary) – Chair, Susan Constable
  • Woden Primary – Chair, Laura Nicholls
  • Wolverhampton Vocational Training Centre (post-16 Vocational special) and Westcroft School – Chair, Janet Smithson
  • Broadmeadow Special – Chair, Susan Ellick
  • D’Eyncourt Primary School – Chair, Carl Fox
  • Coppice Performing Arts School – Mark Taylor

The member academies in Rotherham also comprise:

  • Eastwood Village Primary, East Dene Primary and Coleridge Primary – Chair, Ray Griffiths MBE

The MAT consists of the Members and the Directors.

Local Governing Bodies

CLPT has local governing bodies (LGBs) and Local Executive Governing Bodies (LEGB) and its membership are referred to as ‘governors’.

The details of what has been delegated from the Directors to local governors is detailed in a CLPT Scheme of Delegation. Even though some functions have been delegated to LGB’s, the Directors still remain accountable and responsible for these functions. (n.b. local governors are not Directors of the Academy Trust).

In Wolverhampton there are individual LGBs and LEGBs.  In Rotherham there is an Executive LGB which oversees the three primary schools.

CLPT Board

The Governing Board of Directors has overall responsibility for the charitable aims of the charity and for all financial matters relating to the charitable Trust. They are responsible for ensuring that each academy conforms to the requirements of DfE, The Charities Commission and other regulating bodies.


The Trust currently has 8 Board members which includes the Chief Executive and the Lead Headteacher.

Governance For New Schools Joining the Trust

Structural change, in any area of life, creates turbulence and the structural change of a school, from maintained to academy status, is no different. With this in mind, the Trust has moved to ensure that the implications for the governance of all schools undergoing conversion are minimised. There is however a difference, in our approach, between the process we adopt for converter and sponsor-led academies.

With the former, we do not make any changes to the composition of their governing body, other than adding two Trust nominees. It may well be that those nominees are already existing members of a particular governing body or they may be new additions.

For a sponsored-led academy, the Trust will add two nominees to the governing body and over a period of time reduce the number of governors to a minimum of nine voting members. This model will remain in place until the academy in question receives a “good or better” Ofsted judgement.

The Trust, in consultation with Governing Bodies, has articulated the Delegations for decision making so that there is clarity on responsibilities and who undertakes important tasks such as appointments, much in the same way as the LA has done previously.